Jan Terri’s Comeback

Back in 2010 I blogged about the incomparable Jan Terri.  The Chicago-based songstress recorded a couple of CDs in 1993 and 1994 but since then has been virtually absent from the world of music.  This has left her scores of fans to repeatedly watch her videos on YouTube and wonder if she’d ever record again.  Well, good news!  I was thrilled to recently discover that after a 19 year hiatus, Ms. Terri is back performing and planning the release of a new CD, The Wild One.  I read that it was going to be released in 2012, but I can find no evidence of this yet.  There has been one single released, complete with video:  “Excuse My Christmas.”  If this is any sign of what’s to come, it will be worth waiting for.

If you aren’t familiar with Jan Terri, check out her 1994 video “Journey to Mars” below.  It features early 90’s techno effects with girls in silver jumpsuits and big hair walking through a psychedelic O’Hare International Airport—all to the accompaniment of the musical stylings of Jan Terri.  I love in the closing credits that two of the “silver girls” did hair and makeup.  It’s awesome!  Beam me up, Scotty!

Leave a comment